New Hampshire law requires an ignition interlock device to be installed when a person’s license has been suspended or revoked for: All approved New Hampshire ignition interlock devices shall meet or exceed the specifications set forth by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
1. An aggravated DWI;
2. A subsequent DWI under RSA 265-A:18
3. DWI while under the age of 21
The ignition interlock device will be required for a period of 12-24 months after the suspension ends. For operators under the age of 21, the length of period will be up until the age of 21 and a minimum of 12 months.
The New Hampshire Department of Safety is the state agency, which sets forth the rules governing the use of ignition interlock devices in NH. If you are required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, you will be required to pay hefty costs associated with installation, maintenance and calibration. You will be required to blow into the machine every time you want to start your vehicle and you will be required to periodically blow into the machine in order to keep your car running. The set point for the ignition interlock device will be .02% BRAC (Breath Alcohol Content) which is roughly equivalent to 1 12oz beer.
Minimum Standards for Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices
The ignition interlock device shall disable the vehicle at 0.020 percent BRAC (Breath Alcohol Content).
All alcohol ignition interlock devices shall have the following warning label:
All approved New Hampshire ignition interlock devices shall meet or exceed the specifications set forth by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
NH Ignition interlock devices shall be calibrated and certified monthly, unless otherwise ordered by the Court. The ignition interlock service provider shall be responsible for the collection of all fees and costs associated with providing use of the device.
Ignition interlock devices shall record the following data:
(1) Up to 90 days of driving activity before requiring service and/or calibration, and
(2) Records info and provides reports containing:
a. A report of all attempts (successful or unsuccessful) to start the vehicle,
b. A report of the BRAC (breath alcohol content) of the operator for each attempt;
c. A report of the rolling re-tests taken while the vehicle is being operated;
d. A log of all attempts to circumvent or avoid the taking of tests to start the vehicle and attempts to tamper with the alcohol interlock ignition device;
e. A report of the number of events in the recording system; and
f. A report of the number of engine starts.
g. No ignition interlock device shall be equipped with a bypass device.
The ignition interlock service provider shall be responsible for the collection of all fees and costs associated with providing use of the device.
DISCLAIMER: This web site is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a attorney-client relationship. Additionally, if you send a lawyer or this law firm email through this website, your email will not create an attorney-client relationship and will not necessarily be treated as privileged or confidential. You should not send sensitive or confidential information via this website. The lawyer to whom you are writing or the NH DWI law firm may not choose to accept you as a client. Moreover, as the Internet is not necessarily a secure environment it is possible that your email sent via the Internet might be intercepted and read by third parties.